An Alert Rule automates generating alert notifications to notify staff when a Monitored Asset is in an Alarm state. When in an Alarm state, an alert notification is automatically activated and a notification, either in the form of an email, text or voice message, is sent to those specified in the Alert Rule. The content of the alert notification identifies the Monitored Asset and the condition that resulted in the Alarm state.
You must be assigned to an admin role to create or edit an alert rule.
You may need to disable an alert rule during a planned outage or other temporary condition that requires alert notifications not to be generated. An alert rule can be enabled at anytime to resume alert notifications.
An alert rule can also be deleted if alert notifications are no longer required. When deleted, any active alert notifications are automatically ended.
Go to Monitoring > Alert Rules.
To create a new alert rule, from the bottom menu select + New.
To edit or view the setting of an alert rule, from the list select the Name link of the alert rule. Its profile is displayed.
Enter or update its settings.
Name that uniquely identifies the alert rule.
Commonly provides additional information needed to to share with system users.
This selection identifies what is included in the alert rule.
Assets: adds Monitored Assets from the OneVue Sense solution.
Relays: adds Bell Controllers from the OneVue Notify solution.
Transmitters: adds OneVue Sync Transmitters from the OneVue Sync and Notify solution.
Make a selection from the drop-down list and select Add to List. Repeat this step to add additional items. The table below the setting list what's included in the alert rule.
If a business unit or location is added, all items assigned to the business unit or location are included. If a business unit or location is a parent to other business units, all of its child business units or location assigned items are included. Adding a business unit(s) can simplify managing what's included, eliminating the need to add single items individually.
Alert Rules have the flexibility send alert notifications with simple or team scheduling. Simple scheduling sends alert notifications to users based on a 24 hour, 365 day schedule. Team scheduling allows an Alert Rule to be assigned to a team, which sends notifications based on the team's shifts.
Alerts Go To
By default, an alert rule is set to simple scheduling.
For simple scheduling, add the users or business units that are to receive alert notifications. The list displays who alert notifications are sent to.
When selected, a team is added to the alert rule. The list displays the team(s) assigned to the alert rule. The team is configured with who the alerts go to.
Within a team, a shift specifies who is to receive alert notifications based on the day of the week and time of day. A team can have one shift or multiple shifts. Once a team is created, an Alert Rule is set to team scheduling and the team is then required to be added to the Alert Rule.
Advanced settings. Below settings are only viewable when Show Advanced Options is selected.
Enable Alert Rule
Indicates if the alert rule is enabled or disabled. When enabled, as indicated by a checkmark, alert notifications are generated.
Send return to notification
Indicates if a return to normal alert notification is sent after the alerting condition returns to a normal state. This provides an additional communication to the alert recipients that the condition has been resolved. When enabled, as indicated by a checkmark, return notifications are generated.
Frequency alert notifications are continuously sent during the alerting condition.
As an example, an alert was activated at 1:00 PM and the Alert Interval is set to 15 minutes. An alert notification is sent every 15 minutes. However if the alert was acknowledge, alerts resume at this frequency once the Resume Alert After time period has been reached
When an alert is acknowledged, alert notifications are temporarily suspended until the time period set in the Resume Alerts After setting has been reached.
Resume Alerts After
Period of time that alert notifications resume after the alert has been acknowledged.
As an example, if a user acknowledges an alert at 1:00 PM and the Resume Alerts After setting is to 1 hour, alert notifications resume at 2:00 PM and are sent based on the its Alert Interval frequency. If the alert is acknowledged again, it will resume notifications based on it Resume Alerts After frequency.
Limit to These Types of Alerts
An Alert Rule has various alert types that can be enabled or disabled. Commonly, the condition being monitored or the Primex device type indicates the alert types enabled. By default, all alert types are enabled.
By default, all alert types are enabled, which may or may not apply to the condition you are monitoring. Only select those alert types for the condition being monitored. For detailed information, see topic About OneVue alerting.
Low Battery: Device has a low battery level.
Temperature:: Temperature reading is either below or above its Normal Condition.
Humidity: Humidity reading is either below or above its Normal Condition.
Differential Pressure: Differential Pressure reading is not within its Normal Condition.
Unresponsive: Device has not checked-in to OneVue within the time period set in its Unresponsive Timeout setting.
No Probe: Temperature Probe or Water Leak Detector is either disconnected from a sensor device or has a malfunction.
Time Sync Failure: Sync or Notify device failed to receive time from its time source.
Transmitter: OneVue Sync Transmitter has reported a hardware error status.
Critical Error: OneVue Sync Transmitter has never received a valid time signal and is not transmitting time to secondary devices.
Water Leak: Water Leak Sensor has reported a Wet reading.
Contact Closure: Contact Closure Sensor has reported an Open reading.
For Email Notifications, add text to every alert message.
Text entered is added to the email alert notification. Text or voice notifications do not include this additional information.
As an example, add information that includes processes or specific actions that staff is required to take or reference during an alerting condition.
Add these Alert Resolution prompts when user resolve to an Alert
OneVue Sense only
When an Alert Resolution is selected, when a Monitored Asset assigned to the Alert Rule enters an Alarm state, alert notifications are sent to notify staff of the alarm condition and an Alert is created. From an Alert, staff can acknowledge an alert notification and log corrective actions taken to resolve the alarm condition. The resolutions in the selected Alert Resolution are displayed in the Alert.
Escalation Time (simple scheduling)
An Alert Rule can be configured to send one-time escalation notifications in a given order when an alerting condition has not returned to a Normal state for a specified period of time. Escalation notifications are sent based on start time of the alerting condition. If a user acknowledges an alert notification, the countdown to sending an escalation notification is paused and the countdown resumes at the time alert notifications resume (Resume Alerts Interval setting). The first escalation is sent based on the Escalate settings, and the second escalation sent is based on the Next Escalation settings.
Escalate To (simple Scheduling)
Who is to receive the one-time alert escalation notification. It's recommended to send to a user(s) that is not recipient of the the alert notification (Alerts Go To).
Next Escalation Time (simple scheduling)
When a second one-time escalation notification is generated if the alerting condition continues to be in an Alarm state.
Escalate To Next (simple scheduling)
Who is to receive the second one-time escalation alert notification.
When an alert rule is disabled, alert notifications are not generated for the enabled alert types. At anytime the alert rule can be re-enabled to resume alert notifications.
Go to Monitoring > Alert Rules.
From the list, select the Name link of the alert rule. Its profile is displayed.
Select Show Advanced Options.
Deselect the Enable Alert Rule. When disabled, a checkmark is not displayed.
Alert notifications will not be generated for the alert rule. The alert rule can be re-enabled at anytime by re-selecting the Enabled Alert Rule checkbox.
An alert rule can be deleted if alert notifications are no longer required to be generated for a monitored condition or device. When deleted and the alert rule has active alerts, the alerts are also ended.